A Day at the Beach

It was like any other summer weekend. Erno, Piri, Vila, Tibor, Mariska and myself had made it to the beach by 9. After the volleyball tournament we relaxed by the ocean, enjoying the sound of the waves as we spat watermelon seeds. Per usual Tibor was the best at grouping his but no one could match Piri’s graceful form. Somehow she made spitting elegant.

I lay with my arm over my eyes enjoying the feel of the sun as it dried the saltwater from my skin. My skin cooled as a cloud blocked the sun, then I felt something hit my skin. Shortly after it happened again. Once it happened for the third time I sat up and looked around me. Around me my friends were scanning, searching for the source as well. We were somewhat secluded on our section of the beach but a short way down we noticed that the people there were just fine. At first we thought we were collectively imagining things. Then the sky opened up and we discovered what had hit us.

Hail started pelting us without mercy. Piri, Mariska and Erno dove for shelter under the umbrella. Vila shouted something about grabbing one of the cars and sprinted off. Tibor ran to the water and submerged all but his head. My fight or flight responses have always been a bit off but I stood my ground. Possibly a mistake in judgment because then a bolt of lightning came from the sky, hitting me squarely in the chest.

 

 

Found via WordPress.
Prompt: You’re at the beach with some friends and/or family, enjoying the sun, nibbling on some watermelon. All of a sudden, within seconds, the weather shifts and hail starts descending from the sky. Write a post about what happens next.
Daily Post
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

