I have to deactivate you. I’m sorry…

“I have to deactivate you. I’m sorry,” the man deadpanned.

The boy glared at the man’s emotionless eyes, black in the half light, “Mr. Santos, I thought we had a ‘no lying’ clause.”

He blinked and then finally smiled, “That we did Mr. Gaiman, that we did. Now Nero my lad, you are right. When you took that paper route three years ago we did establish an open honesty clause. So here is the truth. You are dangerous. You can’t control yourself so you need to be put down.”

The boy started to fidget, “Control what, sir?”

“Who is lying now? I know you have had incidents. That poor poor dog from down the street just wanted you to pet him. He didn’t intend for you to shock him to death.”

“I…I didn’t mean to! It was an accident!”

“Yes, I know. But how long until you actually kill a person? You almost did it the other day! Dear little Jenny had quite the little scare. Do you really want to be the cause of someone’s death? Haven’t you claimed enough live?”

“I can get better. I can learn!”

“How? There is no one to teach you.”

“I don’t…I don’t know. But there hasn’t to be someone.”

“No, I don’t think so. How many freaks can there be in the world Nero?”

At that point the man slowly removed a gun from inside his jacket. From his pocket he grabbed a silencing barrel and took care screwing it on correctly. The boy started to sweat. He could feel a tingle at the base of his neck but tried to ignore it. He couldn’t have an episode, not now. Not when someone was about to kill him for having that very ability. He didn’t know what to do. He could try to harness the powers, but like Mr. Santos said, he didn’t have control. He really, really didn’t want to kill anyone. What was his alternative though? Ignore it and be killed? Who could know if after he was dead the charge still wouldn’t release. If he was going to go out, he didn’t want to be a killer. That was Santos’ job, apparently. He closed his eyes and began to breath in and out very slowly. He heard Mr. Santos walk closer. The gun was pressed to his head. He heard a click, felt an explosion, and then everything went black.

Part of Agents & Abbies

Found via Pinterest.
Prompt: I have to deactivate you. I’m sorry.
Justin McLachlan
http://www.justinmclachlan.com

One thought on “I have to deactivate you. I’m sorry…

Leave a Reply

